Cover for revolver.jpg

Revolver is broadcast on

  • Addict Alternative
  • Addict By La Détente Générale
  • Addict Lounge
  • Addict Rock
  • Addict Star


R evolver (UK) were a London based guitar band in existence from 1990-1994, comprising of Mat Flint (guitar/vocals), Hamish Brown (bass) and Nick Dewey (drums). Flint and Dewey had been in school bands together, and when the two moved to London in the autumn of 1990 met Brown who completed the line-up.

The band, after attracting attention from several record labels, signed to the Virgin records subsidiary Hut Records in the summer of 1991. The band quickly picked up a following, supporting the likes of Chapterhouse, Slowdive, Teenage Fanclub and Blur, and gained a lot of press coverage, most notably in NME, Melody Maker and The Face. Their first single, "Heaven Sent An Angel" topped the UK independent charts, as did the follow-up "Crimson", and the third single "Venice". The band specialised in bright, abrasive guitar-pop songs with strong melodies, and were determined (but ultimately failed) to distinguish themselves from the other guitar bands of the era. The UK press lumped them in with the shoegazer movement, a tag that the band weren't comfortable with.

A compilation of these first 3 singles was released in the States as "Baby's Angry" on Caroline Records, and gained the band airplay on US college radio. The band toured America in the autumn of 1992, on a co-headlining tour with fellow Caroline Records act Drop Nineteens.

In 1993, Revolver released the single "Cradle Snatch", closely followed by the album "Cold Water Flat", and while the songs were more sophisticated than their earlier work, the sales weren't as impressive, and Virgin dropped the band after a final single "I Wear Your Chain" failed to make the top 75. The band split up at the beginning of 1994, after failing to sign a deal with another label.

Mat Flint went on to play bass guitar for Death In Vegas from 1996 onwards, and has released two singles, "Commodity" and "Time To Kill", with his new band Deep Cut. Deep Cut's debut album "My Thoughts Light Fires" will be released on Club AC30 Records in February 2009.

Revolver's back catalogue will be available on ITunes from early 2009.

User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License and may also be available under the GNU FDL.

Source: lastfm


pop, rock


Similar Artists